A New Era for Washington


Aliza Ahmad, Author

Early on Wednesday morning, Washington Football unveiled its long-awaited new franchise name. “We continue to honor and represent Burgundy & Gold while forging a pathway to a new era in Washington. Today may mark the first day for the Washington Commanders, but we are and always will be Washington,” said owner Dan Snyder in a press statement. 

In July 2020, Washington retired its controversial name of “the Washington Redskins,” and a temporary placeholder “the Washington Football Team” was born.  

The team was founded in 1932. Known as “the Boston Braves,” it became the “Boston Redskins” the following year. The team then moved to Washington, D.C. in 1937, becoming the “Washington Redskins”. The team won the 1937 and 1942 NFL championship games and three Super Bowls  – XVII, XXII, and XXVI.